I am continuing on to day 4 of Donald Whitney’s excellent resource to get people to consider their spiritual walk at the start of a new year or on their birthday. Check it out here. The aim is to try to answer one question a day.

Day 4 – In which spiritual discipline do you most want to make progress this year, and what will you do about it?

I want to grow in the practice of meditation of the Word and journaling. I have found that some of my most enriching moments in studying Scripture have been when I’ve slowed down to meditate on the Word and journal afterward. My plan this year, Lord willing, is to linger on to study one book of the Bible at a time, meditate on its contents, and journal what I learn.

I finished today a mini-study of Psalm 27 by Cheryl Marshall, which I highly recommend, and I am looking forward to beginning a study of Philippians. I want to read it over and over, memorize it, journal as I go, and hopefully, use as a companion to my study, Susan Heck’s book on a study of Philippians called In Fullness of Joy. Check out her Bible Study on Philippians on her website here. I have also thought about going through Lisa Hughes’ Bible Study on Philippians after I finish with In Fullness of Joy, but I haven’t decided yet. Needless to say, I am excited for what I’m about to learn.

“The reason we come away so cold from reading the word is because we do not warm ourselves at the fire of meditation”  ~ Thomas Watson

“Open my eyes that I may behold wonderful things from you law.” ~ Psalm 118:18

What about you? What spiritual discipline do you most want to make progress this year, and what will you do about it?

Check out these verses on beholding and meditating on God’s wonderful Word. God’s Word is so sweet! May it be our mediation day and night.