If ever anyone wants to read a book to inspire them to not give up on their hopes and dreams, it’s Booker T. Washington’s Up From Slavery. What a great read! What an extraordinary life of a man that truly worked his way up in life from slavery, overcoming many obstacles, and not allowing the awful and disgraceful societal tendencies of the time to limit blacks from achieving anything in life to hold him back. He wasn’t afraid to seek help when needed and did not hold a grudge against anyone for what he went through. In fact, from what I could gather, he was a humble man and a man of God who did not count on his own wisdom, but entrusted himself to his Creator and was used mightily.

Mr. Washington came from humble means and had an insatiable thirst for knowledge and education. He worked hard to get educated and, his efforts were rewarded. He eventually founded the historical Tuskegee University in Tuskegee, Alabama on July 4, 1881 (What a day!). I don’t know the current state of Tuskegee University – whether it still upholds the high work ethics of its founder or not, but I must say its beginning is truly admirable. Mr. Washington envisioned his students not only to be well educated but to have high morals and excellent work ethics; so much so, that their quality of work would overshadow any attention to their race. I would love to visit the institution one day and see the buildings that were constructed, brick by brick, by the very students.

Photo is courtesy of Library of Congress

I truly believe that this should be on every adolescent’s must-read for middle/high school (it most certainly will be for my children). Mr. Washington’s principles and thoughts on labor and work ethic closely resemble what I aspire to be – namely, that one must not shy away from work and that time is to be used wisely, to the utmost productivity. While I didn’t get to read this book when I was younger, I am so glad I got to do it in my adult life. The following is an excerpt from the book.

“While in Paris we saw a good deal of the now famous American Negro painter, Mr. Henry C. Tanner, whom we had formerly known in America. It was very satisfactory to find how well known Mr. Tanner was in the field of art, and to note the high standing which all classes accorded to him. When we told some Americans that we were going to the Luxembourg Palace to see a painting by an American Negro, it was hard to convince them that a Negro had been thus honoured. I do not believe that they were really convinced of the fact until they saw the picture for themselves. My acquaintance with Mr. Tanner reinforced in my mind the truth which I am constantly trying to impress upon our students at Tuskegee – and on our people throughout the country, as far as I can reach them with my voice – that any man, regardless of colour, will be recognized and rewarded just in proportion as he learns to do something well – learns to do it better than someone else – however humble the thing may be. As I have said, I believe that my race will succeed in proportion as it learns to do a common thing in an uncommon manner; learns to do a thing so thoroughly that no one can improve upon what it has done; learns to make its services of indispensable value. This was the spirit that inspired me in my first effort at Hampton, when I was given the opportunity to sweep and dust that schoolroom. In a degree I felt that my whole future life depended upon the thoroughness with which I cleaned that room, and I was determined to do it so well that no one could find any fault with the job. Few people ever stopped, I found when looking at his pictures, to inquire whether Mr. Tanner was a Negro painter, a French painter, or a German painter. They simply knew that he was able to produce something which the world wanted – a great painting – and the matter of his colour did not enter into their minds. When a Negro girl learns to cook, to wash dishes, to sew, to write a book, or a Negro boy learns to groom horses, or to grow sweet potatoes, or to produce butter, or to build a house, or to be able to practice medicine, as well or better than someone else, they will be rewarded regardless of race or colour. In the long run, the world is going to have the best, and any difference in race, religion, or previous history will not long keep the world from what it wants. I think that the whole future of my race hinges on the question as to whether or not it can make itself of such indispensable value that the people in the town and the state where we reside will feel that our presence is necessary to the happiness and well-being of the community. No man who continues to add something to the material, intellectual, and moral well-being of the place in which he lives is long left without proper reward. This is a great human law which cannot be permanently nullified.”

Statue of Booker T. Washington "Lifting the Veil of Ignorance," by Charles Keck located at Tuskegee University in Tuskegee, Alabama                                                               Courtesy of Library of Congress

I love this statue by Charles Keck titled “Lifting the Veil of Ignorance.”

Have you read Up from Slavery? How would a book like this impact today’s youth if it were a mandatory read in schools? I’d love to hear your thoughts.

Check out this conversation on PragerU with Dr. Carol Swain and Michael Knowles about the book on The Book Club.

https://www.prageru.com/video/carol-swain-up-from-slavery-by-booker-t-washington/


8 Do not reprove a scoffer, or he will hate you,
Reprove a wise man and he will love you.
Give instruction to a wise man and he will be still wiser,
Teach a righteous man and he will increase his learning.
10 The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom,
And the knowledge of the Holy One is understanding. ~ Proverbs 9:8-10

The mind of the intelligent seeks knowledge, But the mouth of fools feeds on folly. ~ Proverbs 15:14

~ Ambism